tashzoe – lost in the city

This blog is about me and my misadventures to get lost in the beautiful city that we live in… as well as some of my random mumblings

Baby Shower – A beautiful yet bewildering experience

Life happens in stages. As we grow up, we hit the 21st stage – thank goodness that is over – then the wedding stage, then the baby stage. Being 25 with a husband that turns the big 3-0 this year, I am stuck somewhere in the middle between the wedding and baby stage. We have three weddings that we’ll be attending this year (…I must go dress shopping), and this past Saturday I had the privilege of attending my first baby shower.

I have to admit that for someone who likes to think of herself as socially adept, I arrived not knowing what to do with myself in the slightest. This was made worse by the enormous gift that my sister-in-law had bestowed on me to deliver. So I arrived carrying a gigantic cellophane clad pink basket filled with all sorts of cute and adorable baby thingies, all eyes on me. This was made worse by the fact that my present was less than half the size.

The room was set up beautifully! There was an array of delicious eats and all the ladies looked sparkling in their pre-or-post baby glow. There were also a number of new-born and toddler guests to admire and gawk at.  Fascinating aren’t they? How God has created this tiny body that develops and learns and begins to understand, until it develops into one of us big adults… amazing. I’ll admit, babies fascinate me. For about an hour. And then I am happy that I can give them back to a parent. But I digress.

I have nothing to compare with, but if I were to rate this baby shower, I would give it a 10 out of 10. I got to spend some time with my friends’ adorable new-family-additions and although I may have been out of my comfort zone; it was probably a good thing. Also, I walked away at the end of it with a thank-you jar of sweets, and the knowledge that you can get ‘Pap and Vanilla’ and ‘Chicken and Tomato’ Purity… who would have thought. (No really, why would you want to taste that?). Also, I learnt that babies are born without knee caps! Amazing.

I can’t wait to meet little Lily-Anne J

Verena and Lily-Anne

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 30, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , .
