tashzoe – lost in the city

This blog is about me and my misadventures to get lost in the beautiful city that we live in… as well as some of my random mumblings

What I’ve learnt from being an aunty

A little over 6 months ago, my sister-in-law gave birth to a little guy I like to call my Sam-I-Am. This name stems from Dr Seuss’ Green Eggs and Ham story, and an awkward moment that I had when we were first told Sam’s full name. Lesson number one: Do not laugh at any potential baby names. Ever.

The first lesson was a hard one, and one that I am sure to never live down, especially not in the Marot family. But, I redeemed myself, and was forgiven, and now Sam-I-Am has stuck and is just adorable – well I think so anyway.

There have been many other things that I have learnt from being an aunty, and so I thought that I would share them with you just in case you are expecting a niece or nephew (to be herein referred to as Urban Dictionary’s collective noun: nibling…how cute?!).

Firstly, being an aunt can be emotional. I’m not sure if there are any scientific studies that have investigated transferred emotions, but it seemed like I was more emotional during Meggyn’s pregnancy than she was. Every time I saw her baby bump, I cried. When they showed me their nursery (which was kitted out in Dr Seuss décor) I cried. When Sam sneezed for the first time I laughed and cried at the same time. I didn’t even know I could do that. So prepare yourselves future aunts, there is a special type of emotional for niblings.

Secondly, I learnt that there is a unique type of love for a nibling. This love is incredibly powerful, and can be hard to handle at times. I know that those of you who are parents are thinking; “Just you wait Tash, you have no idea,” and I probably don’t, but it really is amazing. Now this might stem from me being a little bit broody, or the fact that I have always loved baby cuddles, or that fact that nephews can be cuddled until they cry and then returned to their parents, but it is awesome nonetheless.

Thirdly, and from a more practical point of view, I have also learnt that being an aunty can be expensive. There are a lot…and I mean a lot… of adorable baby clothes out there, and one cannot simply buy all of them despite how cute that little sock might be.

Yes, I have learnt a lot from being an aunty, and I have no doubt that I am going to continue to learn new things every day. Most importantly though, I’ve learnt that I love being an aunt!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 14, 2015 by and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

